Members of the BCAPA all have the opportunity to make a difference by volunteering to work on a number of committee's or groups. The BCAPA committee's and groups take on a variety of different tasks from working in the community to assisting with the running of the association. A list of the committees is included below. If you would like to volunteer on a committee please contact the committee chair

Do you want to contact a Committee Chair?
Click here.

Awards Committee

Annually, the Awards Committee provides a bursary to a BCAPA Student Member who will attend a field school within the calendar year. The bursary is a non-repayable limited grant of $1000, with a preference given to those students who demonstrate financial need. The selection process encourages other criteria such as extracurricular involvement and leadership in the BC student archaeology community.

The Awards Committee recognizes one of the many prominent archaeologists or anthropologists who have influenced BC archaeology, by naming the bursary in their honour.

Past Honorees have included:

  • Hilary Stewart;
  • Phil Hobler;
  • Don Mitchell;
  • R.G. Matson;
  • Al MacMillan; and
  • Roy Carlson.

Past recipients of the award include:

  • Emily McLorn Purcell;
  • Ashley Hughes;
  • Andrew Haugo;
  • Janice Nienaber; and
  • Jacqueline Bessette.

2017 Dr. Leonard Charles Ham Student Bursary Information

The 2017 Leonard Charles Ham Student Bursary is for a BCAPA Student Member who will be attending a field school within British Columbia in the 2017 calendar year. This bursary is a non-repayable limited grant of $1000, with preference given to those students who demonstrate financial need. For more information see the attached announcement and to apply please fill in the application and submit to the BCAPA Awards Committee by 5:00pm on May 30, 2017.

Len Ham DgRr-22

Professional Development Committee

The Professional Development Committee is composed of association members; we facilitate the development of skills and knowledge necessary to professional archaeology. We arrange one day workshops that expose participants to specialized skills. From lithic technology, faunal analysis, culturally modified trees, or wet sites; we bring in the best experts in their fields to impart their focused skills and insight to our workshop participants. Seminars are run on a cost recovery basis so the expense is minimal and the rewards rich! We listen to our members and provide interesting speakers and topics to keep our participants satisfied and returning again and again.


Committees » Professional Development Workshops » General Professional Development
Carbon Dating Workshop.jpg
Faunal Workshop with Brian Pegg and Sarah Yoshida.jpg
Lithics 2013 Fort St John with Roger Eldrige.jpg
March 2013 Tour of Carins with Darcy Mathews.jpg
March 2013 Willows Beach Bowls Site Visit with Beth Weathers.jpg

Public Education Committee

The Public Education Committee is a community service provided by volunteer speakers from among the members of the BCAPA. Through the Public Education Committee, professional archaeologists are made available to speak to community groups, schools, and other organizations throughout British Columbia. This service is free (although travel expenses may be requested to some locations). The BCAPA invites you and your school or organization to make use of this community resource. Six weeks or more advance notice is advisable. To arrange a speaker for your group, please e-mail the Public Education Committee Chair


Public Education Committee Mandate

The mandate of the BCAPA Public Education Committee is to facilitate increasing awareness outside the professional archaeological community of (1) the value and significance of BC's heritage, (2) the skill and professionalism of our membership, and (3) the validity of archaeology as a career choice.


Committees » Public Education
Public Education-excavation.jpg
Public Education-flint knapping.jpg
Public Education-screening excercise.jpg
Public Education-screening.jpg
Kwantlen Field school.jpg

Contact Us

Awards Committee

Chair: Ryan Sagarbarria

Bylaws Committee

Chair: Achinie Wijesinghe

First Nations Liaison Committee

Chair: Ramsay McKee

Membership Committee

Chair: Nicole Kapell

Northeast Group

Chair: Jeff Wilson

Professional Development Committee

Chair: Erin Hannon

Public Education Committee

Co-Chairs: Derek O'Neill & Ginelle Taylor

Resource Inventory Standards Committee

Chair: Chris Verral

Qualified Professionals Committee

Co-Chairs: Meng Ying & Mykol Knighton

Standards of Practice

Chair: Clinton Coates

Website Committee

Chair: Eva Brooke

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.